This is an example of a defensive foul committed with the offensive player with the ball in the act of shooting. In order for a foul to be ruled to have occurred in the act of shooting, the offensive player must gather the ball and begin his continuous motion to shoot prior to the foul occurring. On this play, the on ball defender makes illegal contact with the offensive player AFTER the offensive player has gathered the ball and started his upward shooting motion. Because the offensive player had gathered the ball and started his upward shooting motion, this is a foul in the act of shooting. Note also that the fact that the offensive player briefly loses control of the ball before re-gathering it DOES NOT change the ruling on this play. This is a foul in the act of shooting and two free throws would be awarded.