This is an example of a defensive foul that occurs PRIOR to the offensive player starting the act of shooting. In order for a foul to be ruled to have occurred in the act of shooting, the offensive player must gather the ball and begin his continuous motion to shoot prior to the foul occurring. A defender may not have an extended forearm in contact with an opponent who has the ball above free throw line extended. This contact is an automatic foul, whether or not it disrupts the offensive player’s speed, quickness, balance, or rhythm. On this play, the defender puts his forearm into the path of the driving offensive player. Because this contact occurred PRIOR to the gather of the ball by the offensive player, and the gather marks the beginning of the continuous shooting motion, this is a non-shooting foul.