Goaltending (also Technical foul), defensive player grabs net to block shot

This play is an example of both a goaltending violation AND a non-unsportsmanlike technical foul. On this play, the defensive player grabs the rim with his right hand while at that same time, he blocks the shot attempt with his left hand. This is a goaltending violation, regardless if the ball is on its upward or downward flight, and 2 points would be scored. The rule states that a defensive player may not grab the rim, net, backboard, or basket support to gain or maintain height, and violators will be assessed a non-unsportsmanlike technical foul.