No assist credited, pass does not lead directly to made field goal – dribble drive to basket and lay-up

An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each goal. On this play, the scoring player receives the ball at the top of the three point line, dribbles three times along the perimeter then changes direction toward the basket and then dribbles two more times before scoring the lay-up. An assist is NOT credited since the pass did not lead the scorer directly to the made basket.