No assist credited, pass does not lead directly to made field goal – post offense

An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each goal. On this play, #41 in the white uniform receives the ball, pivots to face the basket, makes a couple of jab steps, and then shoots the ball. An assist is NOT credited to #2 in the white uniform since #41 did not demonstrate an immediate reaction towards the basket but rather he makes multiple moves during a five second before shooting the ball.