An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each goal. On this play, the scoring player receives the ball just outside his opponent’s 3 point line, dribbles five times, makes a move to avoid a defender, and then scores on a lay-up. An assist is NOT credited to #11 in the blue uniform since the pass did not lead the scorer directly to the basket.