“On this play, the scoring player receives the ball at the wing beyond the three-point line, then holds the ball to size up the defense guarding the ball screen before scoring the three-pointer. An assist is not credited to #24 in the black uniform, Buddy Hield, since the player who scored received the pass but did not demonstrate an immediate reaction toward the basket. An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each field goal.”