Timeout Request not granted, player is in mid air when player calls timeout

“This is an example of a timeout request by an offensive player that would not be granted. The offensive player, Trey Burke, is in mid-air, and he has also broken the vertical plane of the sideline when he attempts to call timeout. His timeout request is correctly not granted as a player will not be granted a timeout – regular or 20 second – if both of his feet are in the air and any part of his body has broken the vertical plane of the boundary line. This rule also applies to the midcourt line, except during throw-ins in the last two minutes of the fourth or any overtime period.”