“On this play, the scoring player receives the ball near the midcourt line and immediately dribbles into a three-pointer. An assist is credited to #2 in the blue uniform, Joe Ingles, because the receiving player immediately steps into a shot attempt upon receipt of the pass. An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each field goal.”