“On this play, the scoring player receives the ball in the backcourt, then dribbles multiple times before pulling up for a three-pointer. An assist is not credited to #2 in the blue uniform, Marvin Williams, since the pass did not lead the scorer directly into his shot attempt. An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each field goal.”