“On this play, the scoring player receives the ball on the wing beyond the three-point line, shot fakes, then dribbles multiple times as he maneuvers around the defense into the paint before scoring the layup. An assist is not credited to #7 in the blue uniform, Michael-Carter Williams, since the player who scored received the pass but did not demonstrate an immediate reaction toward the basket. An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each field goal.”